Health

Tips On Better Digestion

I’ve come to notice that digestion is something a lot of people struggle with, I for one being one of those people. I used to have no problems with it but my past poor diet has made things a little more difficult for me now, but all will heal with time! I know it can be so frustrating when you feel full or the time or can’t seem to get rid of your bloat. There might also be days when your in pain or have way more gas than usual and I’ve gathered some tips that I find really help a lot!water with lemon.jpgThe first thing I do every single morning is drink a 32 ounce glass of warm lemon water. Lemon is great for detoxification and starting your day this way is a great kickstart for everything in your body to wake up and start working! After a long nights rest your body is dehydrated and needs that water to replenish! So instead of bee-lining it towards your coffee machine, head for the water instead. It’s also important to drink enough water throughout the day which can be hard to remember for some people. I drink about 2-3 liters of water every single day!food combiningYou’ve probably heard about food combining here and there on the internet and you can find tons of charts just by googling it! I find that proper food combining really helps my digestion especially when it comes to fruits and other foods. One thing I definitely recommend is to eat fruits on their own. Don’t eat a bunch of fruit after eating a cooked meal because fruit digests much faster than things like starches and protein so it will cause fermentation in your gut which can lead to gas, bloating, and constipation. Also melons are best eaten first thing in the morning on an empty stomach on their own! Don’t drive yourself too crazy with this and beat yourself up for not following all the rules perfectly and remember that everyone is different so while you might be able to combine avocados and tofu, someone else might not. Try to also remember to eat light foods before heavy foods and quick digesting foods before slow digesting foods!

don't drink with mealsWater dilutes all those digestive juices that help your food digest properly so drinking a lot with meals probably isn’t ideal. I find that drinking water 30 minutes before I eat is great for me. I also recommend waiting at least an hour or even two if you can after eating to drink again.probioticsTaking probiotics helps your gut stay healthy and happy because it increase the amount of good bacteria in your gut. I take one in the morning and one at night every single day just to make sure my tummy is getting a little extra TLC. The probiotic I take is one that was given to me by my naturopath so I’m not sure that I can recommend it unless you were to go to him personally but there are some awesome ones out there! Just make sure they’re vegan friendly. Eating fermented foods like sauerkraut will also help increase the amount of good bacteria in your gut!exerciseExercise gets your blood pumping and helps move things along in your digestive tract. Staying active and doing some cardio will help keep your digestion going. This is why a lot of people that have office jobs where they just sit all day and don’t do much activity outside of work typically have poor digestion; being sedentary really affects it. destressStress can really take a toll on your digestion and cause everything to get out of wack.  It can decrease the movement of your bowels which is not something anyone wants! Try taking some time to breathe and let loose every single day so that you are relaxed and so are your muscles.chew your foodIt’s truly so important to be mindful as you eat. Digestion starts in your mouth with saliva and it is important to eat slowly and really make sure your are chewing your food until it is practically a liquid before swallowing. I know it might make you look a little funny, but it’s also really important to chew your juices and smoothies as well! A good trick when your still getting the hang of this is to make smoothie bowls with toppings so that you can chew and stay mindful instead of just drinking the smoothie super quickly.eat plantsYou guys, eating whole plant foods really is so important for digestion. They’re filled with fiber, nutrition, and have healing properties. Getting in your fruits, veggies, greens, nuts, etc. will help your digestion flow more smoothly as opposed to animal protein which can takes hours to digest and often times stays in our colon for way longer than it should! I can’t imagine how much worse my digestion would have gotten had I not switched to the vegan lifestyle! Really try to incorporate as much plant foods as you can into your diet and I’m sure you’ll notice a change in your digestion. Especially get in those leafy greens; they’re like a gentle broom to your intestinal tract, are full of nutrients, and lower inflammation. I always incorporate greens into my smoothies and always have a some type of fresh greens with my dinner.  Also a reminder, oil is not a whole food so ditch the oil and that will also improve your digestion!

sign-off

Leave a Reply

