Fashion

Athleisure Must Haves

I know I’ve been MIA recently, but finals week really consumed all of my time. Whether I was studying for my next exam, finishing up a project, or typing pages and pages of an essay, there was always something that needed all my attention. Thank goodness it’s finally time for summer break… although the weather isn’t really cooperating. We got two days of 90 degree weather here in New Jersey and it’s been back down to the 60s-70s this week, what a bummer. Either way, it’s still spring and the weather is in fact warming up! Something you’ve probably realized about me is that I love athleisure. It used to be so popular in the 90s in the hip hop culture as well as among starlets like Paris Hilton, sporting Juicy Couture tracksuits. I always look back in history to update my style so I love when trends like this one come back!

The spring time is the perfect time to up your athlesire game because it’s warmer out and you don’t have to hide your look under all those layers and coats. Not only that, but a lot of people also get their fitness on more when it starts to get warmer so we all need looks we can rock to the gym and still look cute if we need to go somewhere afterwards!

LeggingsThere’s nothing like a good pair of workout leggings. I love going for a simple pair with a little extra something like a pop of color, some cutouts, or a fun pattern! Not only will they be comfy and give you a large range of movement when you’re working out, but they’ll also look cute when you pair them with your oversized top and sneakers! It’s one of those looks that makes people think you’re kind of trying hard, but you’re not at all. I love these leggings from AdoreMe. They have a fun pop of peach that’s perfect for the spring time, along with some cutouts on the bottom! If you haven’t checked out AdoreMe yet, you honestly should! They have tons of comfy activewear, along with sleepwear, lingerie, bras, etc. Your first purchase is also super discounted so definitely check them out! We all know I love Instagram and their page is super cute and full of body positivity!Β Screen Shot 2017-05-22 at 5.07.33 PMtopYou can catch me in one of these bad boys a majority of the time. The trick for a good oversized top is just buying a size that’s two times larger than your own. I find that this typically adds a perfect amount of looseness and allows me to wear it off the shoulder, which is an athleisure look that I just love! Cotton On has a bunch of comfy tops that are perfect for this.

Screen Shot 2017-05-22 at 5.21.45 PMcropped hoodie and joggersYou’ve probably seen every off duty model wearing a cropped hoodie with matching joggers, but can you blame them? Not only is this look super comfy, but it’s also super cute! You can dress up this look with some heels when you’re going out, dress it down with your favorite sneakers/slides when you have to run some errands, or take it to the gym and get your sweat on! Matching sets can literally be found anywhere nowadays so literally just walk into your favorite store and you’ll probably find a matching set.

Screen Shot 2017-05-22 at 5.29.41 PMbralettesI know your first thought when you think athleisure is sports bras, and of course I agree with that. It’s so fun wearing a super cute sports bra and letting it peak out from under your top, but let’s not forget about bralettes! A lot of us already have them, and the little bit of lace will add a nice contrast to your sporty look. And if you’re smaller in the chest department like me, bralettes work just as well as sports bras when you’re working out! I love halter bralettes because I think they pair so perfectly with an off-the-shoulder top and add a little extra support. This one from AdoreMe comes with matching undies!

Screen Shot 2017-05-22 at 5.36.36 PM.pngbaseball capSometimes you just don’t wanna do anything with your hair and sometimes dry shampoo can no longer save you. I’m a big fan of the messy bun and it’s one of my go-to looks, but sometimes I want to change it up! I love baseball caps because you can wear them in almost every situation and they are the perfect athleisure accessory. You can literally find these anywhere. One of mine is from Walmart and I get compliments on it all the time. This one from ASOSΒ is super cute and also super cheap!

Screen Shot 2017-05-22 at 5.40.19 PM.pngcomfy sneakersLast, but definitely not least, we can’t forget a good pair of comfy sneakers. Your mind probably goes straight to a pair of Nikes or Adidas, but mine goes right to Converse. Sure I love my Nikes and they’re great in the gym or when I’m going for a run, but my white low top Converse are definitely my go to shoe. They’re super comfortable and actually great in the gym; especially when you’re lifting weights because they have a nice flat bottom. You can also wear them straight out of the gym with the rest of my athleisure must haves and you have a complete and chic look!

Screen Shot 2017-05-22 at 5.47.34 PM.png

sign off

 

2 thoughts on “Athleisure Must Haves

Leave a Reply

