Lifestyle · Thoughts

Why I Don’t Wear A Bra

I remember when I was in middle school, listening to my friends talk about bras, and not being able to relate because I still didn’t have one. I’m not gifted in the chest area and to this day have the chest of a prepubescent boy, except now it doesn’t bother me.

I remember standing in line for a ride in Disney World when I was 12 or 13 and noticing a girl my age with larger, perkier breasts. I casually looked down at my own and become insecure not only with how small mine were in my pathetic training bra, but also because you could see my nipples.

Image result

When I got my first bra, it was quite the experience. Puberty was starting to hit and my boobs were becoming  very sensitive, and yes I did freak out and think I had breast cancer until my mom reassured me that I probably just needed to start wearing a bra. I still remember it, the white base with numerous doodles and pink and green straps. I still remember feeling so awkward needing to get one but also feeling more comfortable around people when I had one on.

Throughout all of middle school and most of high school I envied chestier girls and wondered when my boobs would come in (the answer has yet to be discovered). Every single bra I had was a push up bra even though I had nothing to push up and my boobs didn’t even fill an A cup, but at least it looked like I had boobs. I remember thinking that boys would be disappointed when they saw what a fraud I was and also remember the best part of the day being when I got home and took the jail cell my chest was in off.

Later in my high school career I started feeling more comfortable in my body and completely accepted my non-existent chest. Sure, I still wore bras sometimes but they started slowly drifting away from being a need.

drawing

When I discovered the bralette, I felt like I struck gold. Something so cute that was so comfy and took place of my bra seemed like the greatest invention in the world to me. I own so many of them now and I don’t I’ll ever stop buying them.

I’m 19 now and my chest still looks like puberty forgot about it but I really don’t care. I hate bras and they aren’t comfortable. I don’t feel the need to conform to an idea of how a woman’s boobs should look. What I need to do, is worry about loving myself. I probably can’t even count on one hand how many times I wear a bra in a month. So what if I’m flat chested, so what if sometimes you can see my nipples. If we weren’t meant to have them, then they wouldn’t be there.

drawing

 

 

 

No one should feel like their boobs should look a certain way to be liked by others. As long as you feel comfortable and accept yourself, that’s all that matters. If you ever feel insecure about how you look, consider if it’s because of how you feel about yourself or societies ideals of you. Buy some cute lace bralettes, and live your life.

sign off

 

Feature Image from Glamour Partis

Leave a Reply

