Health · Lifestyle

Tips On Going Vegan

One thing I’m very passionate about is living my best life, and part of that is having a healthy lifestyle. Veganism has been a big component in not only making me healthier, but by allowing me to help animals, improve the environment, and become a better person. It makes me so happy that now, more than ever, people are switching to this lifestyle. I know going vegan to some might sound a little intimidating and they want to do it but are scared of failing; this is why I’ve thought of five little tips to get you on track!

not your milk

1. Educate Yourself

This is the most important step. I recommend reading about veganism and how to do it so you’re getting all the nutrients you need and sustaining a proper diet. If you’re one of those people that still need some convincing and are wondering why you should go vegan, watch Cowspiracy, Forks Over Knives, Earthlings, and 101 Reasons to Go Vegan. Also, one of my favorite vegan YouTubers, Bonny Rebecca, has an awesome read on her tumblr called Why Veganism? that I think is a GREAT!

strawbs

2. Watch ‘What I Eat In A Day’ videos on YouTube

These helped me so much when I first went vegan! I eat a HCLF diet which is what most vegans do (totally cool if that’s not your thing) so I was able to find a lot of videos. You’ll soon learn that the key to a healthy life is simplicity and veganism allows you to do that. A lot of people think that going vegan is expensive. Yeah sure, if you’re buying all those meat and cheese substitutes then it can add up. But if you’re eating whole plant foods like rice, beans, potatoes, bananas, etc. then you’ll probably notice your bill go down. I love watching Bonny Rebecca’s videos like I mentioned before as well as Tess Begg, Izzy Davis, Nina and Randa, and Stella Rae.

strawbs

3. Eat Enough

I 100% think that people fail on the vegan diet because they don’t get enough calories in. 2,000 calories a day is an average amount for me a day, and it should be for you too as a vegan! Some might eat a little more depending on how active you are, but it’s really important to get in those calories! Plant foods have less calories than fatty foods like meat and dairy, so while you can get away with eating small portions of those, it’s not the same with plant foods. Eat until you’re satisfied, I promise you won’t gain wait if you’re eating HCLF.

strawbs

4. Talk To Someone Who’s Vegan

A lot of people I know ask me for advice when they’re switching to a vegan diet and I am more than happy to help! I’m sure that if you have a vegan bestie they’ll be more than willing to answer your questions. It’s always good to talk to someone you know because I think it gives you a sense of comfort and keeps you going. Plus, it’ll always be fun to grab some food with fellow veg heads!

strawbs

5. Transition Gradually 

I was a pescetarian before I went vegan, but I transitioned over night. It was something I wanted to do for a long time and there was really nothing holding me back. I know not everyone can just change their diet in the blink of an eye, and that’s okay. You can take it step by step and cut out one thing at a time. I recommend first cutting out red meat, then white meat, followed by fish and dairy. Dairy can be the hardest to drop since it has addictive properties, but trust me you can do it, and you’ll feel amazing!
I believe in you and wish you luck on your vegan journey, and I’m always here to help<3

sign off

 

Leave a Reply

