Fashion

Met Gala 2016 Red Carpet Review

Ah yes, the Met Gala. The Superbowl event of the fashion world. The best Monday of the year. This years theme was Manus x Machina sponsored by Apple. I will say, a lot of the attendees looked amazing but that doesn’t mean everyone escaped the wrath of the worst dressed list.

The Best

Alexa Chung

This pant and jacket combo is to die for and just makes Alexa Chung more of an “it” girl.

alexa chung

Amber Heard

I got emotional when I saw Amber, she looks like a dream. So glam.

amber heard

Anna Wintour

Mom looking like royalty, the usual.

anna wintour

Blake Lively

Blake is honestly one of my fashion favorites, whether it’s street style, a red carpet, or a talk show interview, she always looks stunning.

blake lively

Chloe Grace Moretz

I love this look so much. I’m obsessed with this dress and I think Chloe’s hair looks amazing with it. She looks beautiful.

chloe grace moretz

Ciara

What a look. Ciara killed me, and that silver hair!!!

ciara

Clare Danes

Literally a dream. Clare Danes was a real life Cinderella in this Zac Posen gown that glowed in the dark. Zac truly outdid himself.

claire danes

Elle Fanning

I love Elle and I think this gown is perfect for her. I also love how the sleek long pony tail looks with it!

elle fanning

Emily Blunt and Olivia Wilde

These lovely ladies serving us fabulous maternity looks with that beautiful pregnancy glow!

emily blunt and olivia wilde

Florence Welch

A lot of times I think people question Florence’s fashion choices but she definitely has a style of her own that she always sticks to. I thought this duo-chrome gown was beautiful and looks so nice with her hair and complexion.

florence welch

Jourdan Dunn

If you know me then you know I’m not the biggest fan of Balmain, but Jourdan made me a fan for just this one second.

jourdam dunnn

Karlie Kloss

A true supermodel looking lovely as always.

karlie kloss

Karolina Kurkova

If this dress didn’t go with this years theme for the gala then I don’t know what did. IBM worked with Marchesa to create this gown and the flowers glowed and changed color depending on the emotions in the tweets on Twitter! I thought Karolina looked beautiful and this gown is right up there with Clare Danes glow in the dark gown.

karolina kurkova

Kate Bosworth

Looking very gorgeous and regal!

kate bosworth

Kate Hudson

Another fashion favorite, this futuristic look is really doing it for me. I will forever be obsessed with Kate Hudson and forever obsessed with the structure of this gown.

kate hudson

Kate Upton

This look was so simple yet Kate made it so beautiful and effortless!

kate upton

Kendall Jenner

I don’t think Kendall Jenner can ever wear something I won’t like. I’m shedding tears.

kendall jenner

Kirsten Stewart

Kirsten Stewart honestly killed it. She looks so cool and I love everything about this look.

kirsten stewart

Kylie Jenner

For her first Met Gala, I think Kylie did pretty well. I’m a fan of this look and I’m not even annoyed that’s it’s Balmain.

kylie jenner

Lara Stone

I am living for the Bridget Bardot vibes this look is giving me.

lara stone

Lily Aldridge

A simple look yet super fabulous and I love the matching gold eyebrows.

lily aldridge

Lily-Rose Depp

Lily makes me super heart eyes emoji and this is definitely a look only she could pull off.

lily-rose depp

Mary-Kate and Ashley Olsen

I don’t care what anyone says, the Olsen twins can never do any wrong in my eyes.

mary kate and ashley olsen

Naomi Campbell

What a blessing, really.

naomi campbell

Nicole Kidman

This looks is so magical and I’m obsessed. I was speechless when I saw Nicole.

nicole kidman

Poppy Delevingne

When I saw Poppy I literally screamed. Her whole look absolutely destroyed me, I mean come on, LOOK AT HER!

poppy delevingne

Rachel McAdams

I don’t know what it is about this Valentino gown, but I’m all about it.

rachel mcadams

Willow and Jaden Smith

They’re literally so cool, I just want to be them.

willow and jaden smith

Zoe Deutch

Another very regal look and I am all about it.

zoey deutch

The In-Between

Bella Hadid

I think Bella looks beautiful and I love the gown, but I do wish she would have worn a simpler shoe to show more leg.

bella hadid

Brie Larson

I don’t hate it, but I really don’t have much to say about it either.

brie larson

Hailee Steinfeld

I think Hailee looks really nice but this look is just so safe and really didn’t do much for me.

hailee steinfeld

Kim Kardashian and Kanye West

I felt a little harsh putting them on the worst dressed list because I don’t actually hate this but Kim is definitely not making me forget I don’t like Blamian. However, I would like Kanye’s bedazzled denim jacket right now please.

kim kardashian and kanye west

Lorde

I love this subtle rainbow gown so much but I just wish Lorde would have done something also with her hair. I think an up-do would have looked great.

lorde

Lupita Nyong’o

As much as I love this gown and love that Lupita went for a green metallic instead of the classic silver or gold, I just can’t get passed the hair.

lupita nyong'o

Rosie Huntington-Whiteley

Rosie always looks beautiful to me but again this look was just so safe.

rosie huntington-whiteley

Zayn Malik and Gigi Hadid

Everyone was obsessed with these two but honestly, they didn’t blow me away. I’m usually all over Gigi’s looks but this one was kind of underwhelming for me. Also, as much as I appreciate Zayn for playing up the theme I kind of don’t think the cyborg arms go with this.

zayn malik and gigi hadid

Zendaya

I think this gown looks amazing on her and I’m not even super mad at the hair but the makeup look makes her eyes look a little too sunken for me.

zendaya

The Worst

Alicia Vikander

This is just too piecey for me and those shoes…

alicia vikander

Beyonce

I hear the bee hive getting ready to attack me already but Bey rocked her Givenchy dress a little too recklessly, I’m not a fan.

beyonce

Demi Lovato

It’s just a no for me.

demi lovato

Emma Stone

What is going on here. Why is that corset there and why does it look like that.

emma stone

Grimes

This is honestly very Grimes, but I just feel like it could have been so much better.

grimes

Jennifer Hudson

This is not flattering at all and the puffy bottom is not working for me.

jennifer hudson

Katy Perry

I love Katy so much, but not even that love could make me like this look.

katy perry

Lady Gaga

Well, it’s very Gaga.

lady gaga

Madonna

Is she ever going to stop trying so hard?

madonna

Nicki Minaj

Nicki has been slaying the red carpet recently so when I saw this I was just a little upset.

nicki minaj

Rita Ora

The birds, the poor birds.

rita ora

Saoirse Ronan

Usually one of my favorites on the red carpet, but this time… not so much.

saoirse ronan

Sarah Jessica Parker

I think SJP forgot to consult her inner Carrie Bradshaw this year.

sarah jessica parker

Selena Gomez

This dress just fell flat for me and those boots are just a no.

selena gomez

Solange

I’m gonna take a wild guess and say she was promoting Lemonade.

solange

Taylor Swift

Taylor Swift said she was channeling her inner robot, but what I think she meant to say was her inner Jenny Humphrey. There is too much going on here.

Taylor Swift

Zoe Saldana

Why can’t they leave the birds alone.

zoe sa;dama

So what did you guys think of this years Met Gala? I loved the theme but I wish more people stuck with it! My favorites were definitely Clare Danes and Karolina Kurkova; not only did they stick with the theme but they looked stunning. Also I think Poppy Delevingne deserves an honorable mention. As for my worst dressed, I have to go with Madonna. Let me know your best and worst dressed in the comments!

xoxo, Caroline

Leave a Reply

