Beauty

Maintaining Blonde Locks

I know, I know, I’m a natural blonde, what do I have to worry about when it comes to maintaining it right? Wrong. Although my roots and a little less than half of my hair is natural, I do have a blonde ombre. One that is especially more vibrant after I got my hair cut. I don’t do many things to keep the color the way it is, but I do have a few tricks to keeping my hair healthy and soft. I thought I would share those tips because I’m sure they’ll help most people even if you’re not blonde. My hair is also not bleached, but these tips apply to those who have bleached their hair as well in my opinion! I’ll also leave links to products that I use and think get the job done.


1. Go Purple

A lot of the time when people dye their hair blonde, it tends to get brassy which is a big no, no, unless that’s the look you were going for. To stop this from happening, it’s important to use a purple shampoo that will tone your hair to stay the shade of blonde that you paid for without turning yellow. Purple is on the opposite side of yellow on the color wheel so it balances the color out, and no your hair will not actually turn purple. I usually wash my hair as soon as I get in the shower and then leave it in until I finish doing everything else. I don’t recommend a toning conditioner as well because you’re already getting it done with the shampoo, so get a regular conditioner! Also make sure that the product you’re using doesn’t have any harsh ingredients that will strip your hair of essential oils and nutrients like sulfates tend to do.

2. Use a Hair Mask

Blondes, especially those that have had their hair bleached, tend to have the most damaged and dry hair. Depending on how much you’ve put you’re hair through, will decide how often you use your hair mask (a leave in conditioner would do the same). I use my hair mask every other time I wash my hair, so about once a week and it works great for me! Another product I use is a frizz control gel-spray which I use after every wash so that my hair doesn’t get as frizzy… obviously. I personally use this because I have curly hair and it tends to frizz, but when you bleach your hair, the damage can cause frizz.

3. Don’t go Heavy on the Heat

This is an obvious one for ANYBODY, not just bleached or dyed hair. Heat is not good for your hair, but especially when you’re blonde and have used bleach, the extra damage is not worth it. Learn to love your natural hair, and only curl or straighten it for special occasions; but when you do make sure to use a heat protector spray or other product that will help reduce damage.

4. Get Regular Trims

Bleaching or dyeing your hair can cause split ends to form more frequently, so in order to keep ย your hair its healthiest, make sure to book an appointment with your stylist regularly so that the damage doesn’t show! Side Note: Speaking of stylists, I highly recommend investing your time and money into someone you trust and knows exactly what they’re doing, because after all, you wear your hair every single day! (shout out to my bby’s at Vida Artistry in Union, NJ)

5. Pool Protection

I’ve never had this happen to me, but apparently blondes go green in the pool, which probably isn’t the best look to sport. Chlorine is an enemy to people that are not naturally blonde and turns their hair green so to prevent this from happening wet your hair with regular water and/or apply your favorite conditioner to it before heading to the pool so that a minimum amount of chlorine gets absorbed.

6. Don’t Over-Wash

When people tell me they wash their hair every day, my eyes widen; this goes for everyone, not just blondes. By washing your hair every day, you’re stripping it of its natural oils that it needs to stay healthy. I personally wash my hair every three days which I feel is perfect. The natural oils your hair produces will especially help the damage that hair dye and bleach cause.

xoxo, Caroline

2 thoughts on “Maintaining Blonde Locks

Leave a Reply

