Lifestyle

August Favorites

You guys… August is really almost over. I feel like this month only lasted a day which is not okay because I’m not mentally prepared for September and colder weather yet. The beach and I just aren’t ready to part ways, but let’s not get into how I’m in denial about the Summer ending and instead talk about my favorites for this month!

Fashion Favorite: Flash Tattoos

I’ve always thought flash tattoos were super cute and even put one on for prom, but it wasn’t until I used them for a photo shoot this month that I became obsessed! I literally had them all over my body and I never want to stop using them. I was definitely one of those children always rocking my fake ink around elementary school, and now I can do it all over again but in a way that is super chic and adds a little something to your look!

Flash Tattoos

Skincare Favorite: Aqua Marina

If you have combination skin that’s a bit red and breaks out occasionally then you need this face wash in your life. LUSH products are all amazing and I highly recommend going in and asking one of the employees which face wash will work best for you. I didn’t want to make this a favorite until I used it for a couple months and I can honestly say it keeps my skin in check! Aqua Marina smells a little fishy but don’t be alarmed, it’s not unbearable and it’s definitely a scent you get used to!

Aqua Marina Cleanser

Favorite Scent: Fresh Cream

Yes, another perfume, I know, I know, I have a problem but YOU GUYS!!! If you want to smell like a bakery (I obviously do) then you need to go to Sephora or Ulta and get this perfume right now. I just happened to pick this up one day and as soon as I sprayed it on myself and found myself smelling my arm all day, I knew I had to buy it. I feel like this is going to become my new scent for the next few months. It’s 100% a sweet smell so if you’re not into that then this might not be for you, but if you are I really think you should find this, smell it, and fall in love.

Philosophy-Fresh Cream

Nail Polish Favorite: Chillato

This is a color that I actually purchased this month, and I adore it! It’s a very creamy pastel green, and if you know me, you know I love green nail polish. I just kept staring at my nails for the first couple of days that I had it on and I know that I’m going to be using it a lot in the upcoming months, I don’t even care that it’s more of a Summer shade… I mean, green’s a Christmas color right??

Essie- Chillato

Food Favorite: Smoothie Bowls

If you follow me on Snapchat (carolinenycek), then you know my obsession with smoothie bowls (sorry). I eat smoothie bowls all year long, but I find myself making them more often in the Summer since I’m usually craving something cold. Since I eat these for basically any meal of the day, I though I’d share two recipes that I personally love and that are completely different from each other and 100% vegan and also gluten free!

First, the Pumpkin Pie Smoothie Bowl (perfect for the upcoming fall season):

3 frozen bananas

1 cup of pumpkin puree

1 medjool date

1 tbsp of cacao, cocoa, or carob powder

1/2 a tsp of pumpkin pie spice

I throw all of this into a food processor and blend until it becomes that nice ice cream consistency. You can obviously top it with whatever you want, but if it were me I’d top it with some unsweetended shredded coconut, granola, cacao nibs, raisins, some warmed peanut butter and pure maple syrup!

Now on the fruity spectrum:

4 frozen bananas

About a handful of frozen blueberries

About a handful of frozen mango (sorry I don’t measure anything guys)

And you guessed it, blend away. It’s really hard to pick a favorite with all the different smoothie bowls I make but this is definitely one of my favorite fruity ones! I’d top this with some raw hemp seeds, raspberries, some fresh blueberries, and goji berries!

Music Favorite: Tropical- Radical Something

You know, It was kind of tough to pick a music favorite this month. I mean, Melanie Martinez just released her album this month, The Beach Boys have been a constant go-to, and Electric Feel decided to remind me how much I loved it. But in the end I noticed that maybe I should pick the song that I literally had on replay when I was coming back home from the city one day and that was Tropical. I love Radical Something so much; I’ve seen them in concert twice and also met them twice, they’re super cool dudes and they’re music is… no pun intended, rad. I can’t really pinpoint what the exact genre of music it is that they make but it’s an amazing mix of so many sounds and I adore them. I highly recommend you check out their music and finish off the Summer listening to this groovy tune.

Tropical- Radical Something

xoxo, Caroline

Leave a Reply

