Lifestyle

10 Things to be Happy About

I’ve decided on introducing a new little series to my blog. My pure goal in life is happiness, and a lot of the times we don’t stop and realize all the small things to be happy about. Trust me, there’s tons. So, with that being said, every month I’m going to share 10 things that make me happy to hopefully remind you if things that you can do or remember when you need some extra sunshine in your life. Clearly things like your health, friends, and family are things that you should never take for granted and should always be happy about, but there is sooo many other things that can flip the corners of your mouth and make your heart beat a little faster!


1. Butterflies in your stomach.I know, I know, some of you are thinking, uhm Caroline butterflies are awful, but NO. STOP RIGHT THERE. You’re looking at it completely wrong! Yes, I suppose butterflies can be associated with nerves, but they can also be associated with excitement and love! The fact that you’re getting butterflies is just a little reminder that you have the ability to feel something and how cool is that?!!

2. Flea Markets

There’s nothing better than a good flea market on a nice Sunday morning. You can find just about anything at a flea market and a lot of the times there’s super cool things for great prices! You also get to see so many different and interesting people.

3. Hot chocolate on a cold day

Let me tell you sister, I make some mean vegan hot chocolate. I know you can all relate to this one… well unless you live in Florida or the Caribbean or something, but after a cold winters day coming inside to a nice cup of cocoa automatically brings a smile to my face. It’s such a warming feeling and just creates the perfect setting!

4. Sea Breeze

If you know me, then you know my favorite place to be is the beach and there’s just something about a sea breeze that makes me feel out of this world. I feel so in my element when the wind just whisks my hair around and the waves crash in front of me. It’s such an amazing feeling.

5. Sunlight

There is nothing that makes me happier than sunlight so shout out to the universe for blessing me with the room that gets the most natural lighting in my house. When I wake up and it’s gloomy out I will literally frown. Sunlight makes everything better; it’s almost impossible to be upset when Mr. Sun is beaming down on you!!

6. Farmer’s Markets

Where I live different towns have farmer’s markets on all different days of the week and my mom and I love going to them every once in a while! It’s a great place to get some delicious fresh fruits which makes this vegan girl happy as can be! Union Square in New York has an amazing farmer’s market and it literally just makes e so happy to walk around there. They sell everything from fresh fruits and veggies, loaves of bread, and even flowers!

7. Freshly Picked Flowers

Speaking of flowers, how insanely happy do those little guys make you??!! I mean come on, they’re all so beautiful and unique. I love seeing the bright colors of freshly picked flowers filling up my living space. They just add a touch of life to any situation and I could stare and take pictures of them all day.

8. Thrift store finds

Oh my gosh. You guys. Tell me it is not the best feeling in the world when you’ve been looking through all the racks at a thrift store and you find something amazing. Some people are iffy about buying things second hand, but honestly I see nothing wrong in it at all! I go thrifting very frequently and have found things from Marc Jacob, Kate Spade Saturday, Alexander McQueen, etc. for insanely reduced prices!!! It’s a great way to buy cute things that are affordable and it’s such a satisfying feeling to find something fabulous in the mountains of clothes.

9. Color Names

This one might be a little strange, but the names of colors literally make me so happy. Like have you ever took the time to read names on crayons or paint samples? Because let me tell you, they’re great. I truly think that they’re one of the best things ever. I searched some to include here so you could see what i mean and these were some of my favorites: coconut white, cloudy day gray, bow tie black, pancake brown, cactus green, blueberry blue, eggplant purple, and jellyfish pink. Yep, that’s what I thought, there’s that smile.

10. Fireworks

Last, but definitely not least, we have fireworks. There’s something that I find extremely magical and enchanting about fireworks. I have a lot of good memories associated with fireworks and the fourth of July so they always manage to brighten my day (no pun intended). The atmosphere on the fourth of July especially is just so different and makes me feel really good inside. And don’t even get me started on the ones that look like hearts, flowers, and smiley faces, OMG.

xoxo, Caroline

Leave a Reply

